MAIDEN: The story of Tracy Edwards and her all-female crew

Cherry B.
2 min readMar 5, 2021

If we believe in everything that people say we cannot do, what would humankind have achieved?

Courtesy of Netflix

It is Netflix time again. I clicked on this documentary not knowing what to expect, and then I found a gem. I have very little knowledge about sailing. The few times that I went sailing with my husband, I was there just to enjoy the sea and sun. (And be proposed to — that was an unforgettable surprise.) I married a man who sails, that’s it.

But this documentary is not just about women trying to sail, it is 1 hour 37 minutes of empowerment. I live in a time where I am not familiar the concepts of what women can and cannot do. I am educated to believe that we, too, can achieve what men can. But when Tracy Edwards decided that she wanted to join the Whitbread Round the World Race in the 80s, she was told by the men on the boats that women were for “screwing on land”. The world, or at least my world, would for sure explode with rage and outrage if a man dares to say anything like that.

Tracy at last found a boat where she could work as a cook. But that was not pleasant at all. At one point the men wrote on her shirt “on sale for a crate of beer”. When interviewed about her experience on the boat with the men, she politely replied that they were “very, very nice men.” But she also knew that she would have…

--

--